DAD’S TOOLS

   

It was good fortune to have inherited my dad’s tools.

 He was good with his hands and choose his tools wisely.

My hands now touch these tools that he once used and at times I

 feel  the touch of his hands on them. It is quite an assortment of tools.

He possessed open wrenches and socket wrenches,

various files, hammers, screwdrivers of all sorts and sizes.

They have helped me many times over the years with all sorts of projects.

Today when something needs to be done these tools provide just the right help

because they were chosen wisely for strength, ease of use, and durability.

Every time they are in my hands I think of him and ask for his advise.

Sometimes a project is not started for weeks. I know he is giving it some thought.

 There is something unknown that will alter the situation this way or that way

and what I know about it will change. Whenever it is started it will be

finished in a timely fashion; thanks to the tools and extra help my dad still gives me.

 These tools he left behind speak louder and more to me

 then my dear dad ever did when he was alive.

written by:

Eddie Two Hawks

6 thoughts on “DAD’S TOOLS

  1. What a story about your father’s tools. Your story leaves me with so many questions about your father and you.

  2. How wonderful to have something that carries a part of a person and resonates the knowlege to use it properly.

  3. That is a lovely thoughtful blog. to handle the same tools and feel close to your father through them is very touching.

  4. Everyone has a connection with his or her past. Some are tangible with objects with memories or both. These "connections" exist whether or not they are favorable.

  5. What lovely discovery. I have garden tools of parents and an old pail. These tactile reminders let me know how they worked the land and are precious more now as I grow older. I like to think how their hands touched these tools and we are connected again.

comments are encouraged (YouTube and anonymous will not be posted)

