LIFE’S LONELY ROAD

for  Cathy…

I have never found a companion that was so companionable as solitude.

 We are for the most part more lonely when we go abroad among men than when we stay in our chambers.

 A man thinking or working is always alone, let him be where he will.
Henry David Thoreau

Living the past is a dull and lonely business; looking back strains the neck muscles,

causing you to bump into people not going your way.
Edna Ferber

It is strange to be known so universally and yet to be so lonely.

Albert Einstein

On the other hand, I mean, that is what writers have always been supposed to do,

 was to rely on their own devices and to – I mean, writing is a lonely business.

Donna Tartt

That process by which you become a writer is a pretty lonely one. We don’t have a group apprenticeship

like a violinist might training for an orchestra.

Anne Rice

All birds, even those of the same species, are not alike, and it is the same with animals and with

human beings. The reason Wakan Tanka does not make two birds, or animals, or human beings

exactly alike is because each is placed here by WakanTanka to be an independent individuality

 and to rely upon itself. – Shooter Teton Sioux

—-

33 thoughts on “LIFE’S LONELY ROAD

  1. Hello friend I’m here in your page dedicated to photography that I like a lot.Beautiful also the aphorisms that you chose.I wish you a good week thanks for visiting and greetings.
    Soul.

  2. I’ve tried all weekend to think of what to say, Eddie…but, all I can say is, thank you from my heart…you are such a good kind friend…these quotes have helped so very much…love, Cathy.

      • My remark was not accurate by any means Wolfie. Your remarks not only ‘count’ they matter to me.
        I have always appreciated fully your thoughts and feelings but foremost our friendship. Excuse my thoughtless manner of expression.
        with love, Eddie

      • Aww Eddie! There was nothing at all thoughtless about your “manner of expression” and my response was meant purely in a light-hearted and humorous fashion. I am so sorry if I gave the wrong impression and gave you cause for concern. I think you’re a lovely man with a beautiful spirit and I have never considered you thoughtless or any other negative connotation. Indeed it is my privilege to call you friend 🙂 Fly free and high with the hawks above the land you nurture, and the peace of the Great Spirit embrace you. Love and a big Wolfie hug…Wolfie x 🙂

      • So very good to hear from you Wolfie. Sometimes it is not so much ‘what it said’ but ‘how it is said’ that may lead to misunderstandings.
        Thank you kind hearted soul for being who you are; my very close and dear friend! love always, Eddie

        p.s. have photos to send of my cats… tried sending…but then had trouble sending them! darn computers!

      • Yes, you’re absolutely right there my wise friend…and re the photos of your cats, I know exactly what you mean about computers! My connection hates the horrible weather we’re having and it’s trashing my signal making connecting at all for more than 30sec’s at a time a huge major battle of wills!!! 🙂

  3. Yes Eddie, at time the road can be a lonely path to walk.. But we meet the most interesting people along the way…. Loved reading all of your Quotes Eddie, and I hope Cathy enjoyed each and every one.. Beautiful choice of graphics too my friend…
    I hope that your Saturday was a Good one..
    Light and love sent your way. ~Dreamwalker 🙂

    • Saturday was good thank you as I was had the time to write.
      It is not always available as you might know.
      Your kind words are always greatly appreciated Dreamwalker.
      with love, Eddie

comments are encouraged (YouTube and anonymous will not be posted)

