CLEAR THINKING

Clear Thought

Clear thinking leads to Nirvana,

a confused mind is a place of death.

Clear thinkers do not die,

the confused ones have never lived.

The wise man appreciates clear thinking,

delights in its purity, and

selects it as the means to Nirvana.

He meditates, he perseveres,

he works hard for the incomparable freedom and bliss of Nirvana.

He steps forward:

this clear thinker and pure worker,

this dignified and disciplined disciple of Dhamma.

Clear thinking, right action, discipline and restraint,

make an island for the wise man,

an island safe from floods.

Sloth is loved by the ignorant and foolish;

the wise man’s treasure is his clear thinking.

“Never sloth, never lust, never the senses”–

This is clear thinking, which brings great joy.

Suppressing sloth steadily, slowly,

a man climbs the tower of serene wisdom.

Sees, below, the suffering multitudes,

as one from a high hill sees the level plain.

While others sleep he is awake,

they sleep, he works.

He is the wise man,

          the race horse swiftly advancing.

Clear thinking made Indra chief god,

Let us praise clear thinking, confusion canceler.

For it moves like a flame, burning

all bondage, big and small.

A bhikku with clear thinking sees confusion clearly,

          and is not afraid.

A bhikku with clear thinking is close to Nirvana.

He sees confusion clearly, and is not afraid.

                                                                      from “The Dhammapada

18 thoughts on “CLEAR THINKING

  1. Oh how I wish I could keep my mind clear thinking as certainly mine can get so confused it just turns to mush and can no longer function properly. I often allow to much to enter at one time and it just starts to jam up and short circuit everything. If I could just allow only one thought to enter there would be far less pileups in my nervous system. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend. Hugs Carrie

    • It is not easy to accomplish. This is “inner work” that reqires time and patience.
      Be patient with yourself. Many have the same problem Carrie. As do I.
      Thank you very much for you comment. with love, Eddie

  2. This is wonderful Eddie. I intend to keep reading it because it inspires us to keep clearing the fog of the mind, keep awake, and not drop back into the sleep of ignorance and confusion. Thank you.

  3. Amazing how this post Eddie ties in with my own thoughts at this moment, as I just finished off the touches to a poem, I was writing one I had half finished some time back and had even forgotten I had wrote it until I was looking for another poem… ( Which I couldnt find in my archives on pc lol ) so this poem was just begging to be finished. And I was prompted by my friend…
    Unless we clear our baggage of thoughts and find that Peace within our minds we impede our progress.. Once we let those thoughts of worries go, we then see the beauty within all things as we allow the Joy to be experienced within….
    Thank you so very much for this inspiring post Eddie.. you have inspired me forward to publish my poem today…
    Love and Blessings my great wise friend..
    A Happy ~ Dreamwalker 🙂

comments are encouraged (YouTube and anonymous will not be posted)

