End of Suffering

Death Valley

The Four Noble Truths

1. All things and experiences are marked by suffering or disharmony
and frustration (dukkha).
2. The arising of suffering or disharmony or frustration comes from desire
or craving and clinging.
3. To achieve the cessation or end of suffering or disharmony or frustration,
let go of desire or craving and clinging.
4. The way to achieve that cessation of suffering or disharmony and frustration,
is walking the Eightfold Path.

The Eightfold Path to the Cessation of Suffering

1. Right Understanding of the following facts:
the truth about suffering … (The Four Truths);
everything is impermanent and changes;
there is no separate individual self, this is an illusion. (We are one!)
2. Right Determination to:
give up what is wrong and evil;
undertake what is good;
abandon thoughts that have to do with bringing suffering to any conscious being;
cultivate thoughts of loving kindness, that are based on caring about others’
suffering, and sympathetic joy in others’ happiness.
3. Right Speech:
Abstain from telling lies.
Abstain from talk that brings harm or discredit to others
(such as backbiting or slander) or talk that creates hatred or disharmony
between individuals and groups.
Abstain from harsh, rude, impolite, malicious, or abusive language.
Abstain from idle, useless, and foolish babble and gossip.
Abstain from recrimination and negative statements.
Abstain from harsh speech—practice kindly speech.
Abstain from frivolous speech—practice meaningful speech.
Abstain from slanderous speech—practice harmonious speech.
Speak the truth if it is useful and timely. Practice only necessary speech.
Let your speech be filled with loving kindness. Speak that which alleviates suffering.
4. Right Action:
Peaceful, honorable conduct; abstain from dishonest dealings; take concrete steps
necessary to foster what is good.
Do things that are moral, honest, and alleviate suffering. Do not do things that
will bring suffering to others or yourself.
5. Right Livelihood:
Abstain from making your living from an occupation that brings harm and suffering
to humans or animals, or diminish their well-being. This includes: activities
that directly harm conscious beings, and activities that indirectly harm sentient
beings, e.g., making weapons or poisons.
6. Right Effort:
Foster good and prevent evil;
Work on yourself—be engaged in appropriate self-improvement. The essence of
right effort is that everything must be done with a sense of proper balance
that fits the situation. Effort should be balanced between trying too hard
and not trying hard enough. For example, strike the balance between excessive
fasting and over-indulgence in food. Trying hard to progress too rapidly
gets poor results, as does not trying hard enough.
7. Right Mindfulness or wakefulness:
Foster right attention.
Avoid whatever clouds our mental awareness (e.g., drugs).
Systematically and intentionally develop awareness.
8. Right Concentration:
Developed by practicing meditation or mental focusing. Proper meditation
must be done continuously while awake and should include work on awareness
of body, emotions, thought, and mind objects.

source: The Buddha
image: Eddie Two Hawks/image collection/Death Valley, California

reprinted from: ETH “Impermanence”/May 10, 2012
dukkha: (Pali; Sanskrit) meaning, suffering

24 thoughts on “End of Suffering

  1. Thank you for the reminder. Studied Buddhism while a college student. It steered me away from Catholicism and led me to a new search for inner peace. In the process, it might just have saved my life.

  2. Would that more could just put their right foot forward upon the 8fold path Eddie.. What a wonderful difference within the world then we would see… If more would follow these simple rules..
    _/\_ Sue

  3. I have so many instances in my Life where I have experienced suffering, yet when I let go and accept, the suffering abates. Not easy to do at times, and I admit, I waffle with the Higher Truths. I was just gazing out my kitchen window today, saying I thought as I grew in years, I would understand what I do not. In this Present Now, I know even less then I thought I knew, for what I thought I knew no longer holds True. And thus, what no longer holds True, raises even more questions. Ah, for the mysteries of Life! Bless you for this post, Eddie!!! I hope MANY read it! Love, Amy

    • Hearing from you is so very good Amy. Thank you for your kindness.
      Difficulties abound in a world of lessons. Each day we learn something new.
      These days of trials are always filled with promise for each hurdle past.
      Happy to hear you have past your many hurdles and are moving on. with love, Eddie

      • Thank you, Eddie. There is only one way for me to go, which is forward. I’ve had so many shocks and trials and tests one after another lately, that out of all this, I am learning if I hang on to self and attachments, I would soon be buried alive under an Avalanche of Sorrow. Merging with Consciousness, realizing I AM Consciousness, and Flowing through the Boulders of Burden hurtled my way, I become the River. The Stream. And Flow. To BE. Much Love, Eddie. (((HUGS))) Amy

  4. I like this thought and go with all of but… my thought is that desire without craving or clinging is healthy. I may want something but if I let go of attachment to the outcome, there is still no suffering. I can put the thought out and allow the best to happen for all concerned. It’s the craving and clinging that get us every time. Just my take on it. 🙂 I love that you read German. I see the comment above and would very much (desire) to enhance my skills. My priorities are such at the moment, that it has not come to fruition. Just a little suffering here.:)

    • The mighty ‘Bing translator’ reads German for me. Thank you for the thought.
      As for ‘suffering’, there are many forms. What is being suggested here, is that we accept the suffering.
      It is a lesson, perhaps, a great lesson, learn from it and move on.
      Thank you very much for your many kind thoughts. They are greatly appreciated.

  5. Just been discussing these in our Philosophical Society, found it great. Love the Right Thinking, Right Action, so simple and effective, with a bit of thought should be effortless. Thank you for sharing these.

comments are encouraged (YouTube and anonymous will not be posted)

