The Stream

DSCF0010

Time is but the stream I go a-fishing in. I drink at it; but
while I drink I see the sandy bottom and detect how shallow
it is. Its thin current slides away, but eternity remains. I would
drink deeper; fish in the sky, whose bottom is pebbly with stars.
I cannot count one. I know not the first letter of the alphabet.
I have always been regretting that I was not as wise as the
day I was born.

source: Henry David Thoreau, Walden
image: Eddie Two Hawks, Peace River, Florida 2003

28 thoughts on “The Stream

  1. You have a gift for fitting thoughts to appropriate images so that they add up to a far larger whole. Words and pictures each add their part, but the whole is something else again beyond its constituents. That, I think, is where we live, in that great beyond. Thank you, Eddie Two Hawks.

    • Thank you for your kind words Steve and thank you very much for your subscription.
      May your new year be filled with new promise, peace, and good fortune. Eddie

  2. I love this Henry David Thoreau writing, thank you. Thoreau has inspired me for many a year!

comments are encouraged (YouTube and anonymous will not be posted)

