Deep Nature of Life

IMG_1267

The five basic colors
can be made into countless combinations
to perplex the eyes.
The five basic tones
can be made into infinite compositions
to bewilder the ears.
The five basic flavors
can be made into numerous stimulations
to confuse the tongue.
The pursuit of worldly pleasures
can make the mind wide and uncontrollable.
The one who sees the deep nature of life
would rather embrace
the simple subtle essence of life.

source: Lao Tzu, Tao Teh Ching
image: Eddie Two Hawks, Eddie’s Garden

17 thoughts on “Deep Nature of Life

  1. Here’s to the Deep Nature of Live and Living it well Eddie.. And this sail plant as I call it I had one Many years ago now as a pot plant.. I was distraught when it died when I re-potted it after moving house… I had had it for years… So I do not know if it didn’t like the compost or the move LOL.. 🙂 Thank you for bring that memory of it back.. I had it in a basket of plants on my 5th Wedding Anniversary.. some 35 yrs ago now 🙂

  2. I like the sentiment in these verses from Lao Tzu. I don’t see any need to pursue worldly pleasures. When I sit still, they seem to pursue me. My biggest challenge is in finding the time to deal with all the stuff that comes my way.

comments are encouraged (YouTube and anonymous will not be posted)

