A Precious Treasure

IMG_1296

My words are very easy to understand
and easy to practice,
yet the world can neither understand
nor practice them.
My words have only one source:
the subtle truth of the universe.
My deeds have only one master:
the natural virtue of the universe.
The people of the world have no knowledge of this.
Thus, they have no knowledge of me.
The fewer the persons that know me,
the nobler are they that follow me.
Therefore, the one of whole virtue
wears coarse clothes superficially,
but holds a precious treasure within.

source: Lao Tzu, Tao Teh Ching
image: Eddie Two Hawks, Eddie’s Garden, April 2015

8 thoughts on “A Precious Treasure

  1. Good morning, Eddie..found this blog inspiring and uplifting…there is a treasure within if we allow ourselves to see what others see in us…this is difficult, sometimes, but I am beginning to see it..love Katie.

  2. Thank you, Eddie. Your work has provided a great introduction to the Tao Teh Ching for me, as well as others, I’m sure.

comments are encouraged (YouTube and anonymous will not be posted)

