The Soft and the Gentle

IMG_0978

When a person is alive, he is soft and supple.
When a person dies, he becomes hard and rigid.
When a plant is alive, it is pliant and tender.
When a plant is dead, it becomes dry and brittle.
Hence, the hard and rigid are companions of the dead.
The soft and supple are companions of the living.

Therefore, a mighty army is ready to be vanquished.
A tree that is dry is ready for the ax.
The mighty and the great will be laid low.
The soft and the gentle will outlive them all!

source: Lao Tzu, Tao Teh Ching
image: Eddie Two Hawks, Eddie’s Garden, June 2014

14 thoughts on “The Soft and the Gentle

  1. Good Morning Eddie…I hope this day finds you well and in good spirits…this is what my parents would have called, ” a faithful saying”, which means something that is or should be a maxim in one’s life…it made me remember myself as a young mother..so many said I was too soft, too lenient…but my children grew well and straight….and respected me when they were older…I never looked at these things as the difference between being alive and not…it is very true, for if I know nothing else now, I DO know that I am very much alive…and am continuously thankful for it, no matter what life itself brings me on any given day…well said, my friend.

    • Some youthful bodies age way before their time, but what you say is true among many.
      Your kind thoughts and words are greatly appreciated Gretchen. Enjoy these beautiful Autumn days

comments are encouraged (YouTube and anonymous will not be posted)

