The Zodiac


an introduction and brief overview

Western Astrology is comprised of the Sun, Moon, the planets and 12 signs.

 Each sign occupies a space known as a house of 30 degrees (totalling 360 of the circle).

 These 12 signs are named for a constellation within 30 degrees of the plane of the ecliptic.

The ecliptic is an imaginary path of Earth’s orbit around the Sun.

There are 12 signs. They are: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius,

 Capricorn,  Aquarius, and Pisces. All signs are relative to constellations that are seen from Earth.

There is a 13th constellation ‘Ophiuchus‘ that is only partially seen. It was known in Ptolemy’s time.

It was decided not to include it in the zodiac. The reason behind this decision is unclear.

 However, in 1930 it was recognized by the International Astronomical Union (IAU).

 Nothing is absolute in the universe. Even the positions of the constellations

 have changed over time due to Earth’s ‘wobble’. This change is significant enough

to move some signs 30 degrees or more. Regardless, in Western Astrology spring equinox

(March 20-22) is still the beginning of the zodiac and one degree Aries.

Sidereal astrology, as used in India, is more in keeping with these changes.

The constellations as followed by Indian astrologers are more in line with their actual movement.

Chinese astrology  is different still. They relate only 5 planets to elements.

They are: Venus, gold; Jupiter, wood; Mercury, water; Mars, fire; and Saturn, Earth.

 There are many variables. Want more information?

 Consult an astrologer and continue to look for future articles

source: Eddie Two Hawks
original: Eddie Two Hawks, January 24, 2011


9 thoughts on “The Zodiac

comments are encouraged (YouTube and anonymous will not be posted)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: